The Importance of Patience and Empathy

A couple of days after Christmas, the kids and I came down with a nasty cold.  This was the worse cold that we’ve had this season and it’s all thanks to my mother in law who came by on Christmas Day sick with a cold.  Knowing my mother in law, she knew she was sick before she came by the house and my husband knew that she was coming by sick so why didn’t my husband tell his mother not to come by, you’re guess is as good as mine.  My mother in law said that she wasn’t staying long when she got at the house and didn’t want to kiss or hug anyone but she stayed for about twenty minutes as to seen the kids open up their gifts. It doesn’t take much for the cold virus to spread especially if you in a room with the person.   

About a few days later, I received a text from my mother in law asking how everyone was.  I asked my husband did he tell her that we had the cold and he said yes.  I told him that she should have stayed home.  My husband felt because it was Christmas that he didn’t see the problem (he didn’t get the cold by the way). I had to reminded him that I didn’t care if it’s was Christmas that she came by knowing she was sick and gave us her cold.  The presents could have waited.  He then agreed.

This could have been a good situation to teach our children about patience and empathy.  If my mother in law stayed home, we could have explained to the kids that grandmamma was sick and can’t come by until she felt better.  This teaches them to think of others well being before material things.  We could have stressed the importance of grandmamma being healthy to see them open their gifts and a grand mamma healthy is important right?   It would show that we had empathy for grandmamma because it was important for her to get well and the gifts will come some other time.  It would have showed that grandmamma thought about the health and well being of the children because she didn’t want to get them sick as well.

This could have been a good lesson in patience.  This situation would have taught the children that you can’t get what you want when you want or expect it all the time.  Although you may not get what you want when you want or expect it, it doesn’t mean you won’t get it.  There are things that cause a delay in getting what you want but eventually you will get it or maybe your won’t but that’s ok and go about your day.  I don’t want my children to think that just because it’s Christmas or Birthday or any day that they “expect” a gift that they should get it on that day and if they don’t, they will be disappointed.  It’s ok if you don’t get it that day.  It’s not the end of the world.

These are the hypothetical lessons that I would have like to teach my children on Christmas Day but didn’t get the chance to.  The gifts wouldn’t disappear because you don’t get the gifts that day.  Shit happens and the sooner my children realize that, the more mentally stable they will become.  This would also teach them to be considerate and not spread their cold germs around because you don’t want others to be sick.  I would rather my mother in law gave the gift of patience and empathy instead of the cold bug any day.

Leave a Reply

