Middle of the night waking Mystery

A couple of nights here and there, The Don has been waking up in the middle of the night.  I thought it was strange one night when I went to the bathroom and looked down at the staircase to see a glow coming from The Don’s room.  This is the first time I’ve notice The Don was up in the middle of the night. 

It was about three in the morning when I notice his bedroom light was on.  I checked the monitor to see what was going on.  The Don was playing with his toys.  What could have caused him to wake up and not fall asleep?  I know around the age of three years old, children start to have nightmares and or night terrors but I didn’t hear anything screaming or yelling to insist that it was a bad dream.  So I went downstairs to see why The Don was up.  I knocked on the door and The Don answered, looking playful as usual but didn’t seem distressed.  “Why are you up little man?”  I asked The Don which he couldn’t answer.  I looked around the room and noticed that the potty had pee in it.  I assumed that this was the reason The Don didn’t or should I say couldn’t go back to sleep because he doesn’t know how to tuck himself back in to sleep. But The Don got back up sometime before seven o’clock when I nursed Bambino because when my husband tried to get him an hour later, The Don was asleep on his Batman couch. The Don went potty as well this time a poopy. So that night, I tucked him in and for the passed three night, my husband or myself would show The Don how to tuck himself in just in case that this was the reason why he couldn’t get back to sleep. 

The second night this happen, I heard something in the monitor that made me look to see what was up in The Don’s room around one forty five in the morning.  It looked like The Don was going away from the potty in his room to turn the lights on.  So, I went downstairs to see why he was up.  I figured that he couldn’t tuck himself in again and needed help.  I poured out the pee and tucked him back into bed.  About an hour later, I looked at the monitor to see The Don getting back up to turn the lights on.  I figured like the first time, he would play and then fall asleep in about three hours.  This time, The Don stood up from two forty five until one forty five when I made him take a nap.  Something must be troubling him to stay awake all night.

Last night when I had my middle of the night potty break, I saw the glow of The Don’s bed room little again.  It was about three forty in the morning.  I don’t know how long he has been up but I went downstairs to check up on him again.  I’m assuming that he went to the potty again and he couldn’t tuck himself back to sleep or know that he could tuck himself back to sleep.  I knocked on the door and asked my usual question, “Why aren’t you sleeping? Did you have a bad dream?”  The Don really couldn’t answer because he doesn’t know why or can’t explain why he can’t sleep or what a bad dream is.  I looked at the potty and there wasn’t any pee.  Now I’m getting nervous because either he has a lot on his mind and can’t sleep (which is good) or he’s having nightmares and do want to go to sleep (which is bad).  When I asked him to lay in the bed The Don said, “No bed!” It wasn’t panicky it sounded like he didn’t want to go to sleep.  I tucked him in and this time he stayed in the bed and slept until my husband was about to leave.

What these nights have in common is all three of this nights, The Don had three hour naps.  I wondered if the naps contribute to The Don not sleeping.  I hope so.  If he is having bad dreams, I didn’t hear him scream and he’s handling it pretty well if he was.  I’m just going to keep an eye out to make sure that it’s nothing serious and that it’s a developmental phase.  I don’t know why I’m worried because when someone can’t go back to sleep, the best advice is to not stay in bed but to do something until your body is ready to sleep again.  I guess The Don might be on to something. The Don will sleep again and this phrase will pass or is it the beginning of something else?

Leave a Reply

