Mama’s hair looks funny

I usually wear my hair in double strand twist or braided so it would be easier for me to get up and go about my day.  A week ago, I decided to be adventurous and take out my braids and to wear my hair out.  My hair and much African American hair in its nature state tend to have a mind of its own.  It doesn’t stay or lay down like other races. It tends to be seen and announce itself to the world saying, “Look, I am hair.  I stand up straight and tall. Now, which direction will I go today?”  Once I get my hair set I’m good to go.  My favorite all out hair style is the mini Afro.  I think it’s cute and all I have to do is brush or comb or brush and comb my hair, put a band around it and I’m done. 

One day when my hair wasn’t in the mini Afro and it was just “out” my oldest son came on the couch with me and touched my hair and said, “Mama’s hair looks funny.” and then proceed to laugh.  I thought that this was strange that he came out and said that my hair looked funny.  My oldest is use to me having my hair in braids or double strain twist so maybe having my hair out was funny to him.  So almost everyday, my son looked at my hair or touched my hair and says, “Mama hair looks funny.”  So I asked him, “Why mama’s hair looks funny?”  to see what he says.  But he couldn’t answer. 

With hair out

 

I’m sure he noticed the different types of hair in our family.  My husband’s hair is straight, my oldest son’s hair is a mixture between my husband’s hair and mine, and his baby brother’s hair will probably be similar to his hair.  The only person’s hair is different is mama’s.  So maybe that’s why it looks “funny” to him.  I didn’t realize that my oldest son would notice these differences so soon.

I don’t know why but it kept bothering me that my son thought my hair looked funny.  I know that this age (he will be three in June) that’s kids will say things that can be hurtful and they can be rude and insensitive about it too. I don’t want my son to be insensitive about a person’s look because they may look different than him.  So every time my son tells me that my hair looks funny, I tell him, “No son, my hair is just different.”  I won’t make a big deal out of it and just let it go.  I want him to learn to accept people for who they are and not make fun of them because they “look” different.  I guess there’s no better time than the present to teach him this value lesson and what better subject he can use to learn from than his mother. 

Leave a Reply

