Being a Kid For a Moment

Today was one of those days where I was so exhausted that I felt like I was on autopilot.  You know the feeling where your body is moving but your mind is asleep.  My infant son is still going through his sleep regression waking up every hour and a half after a couple of nights sleeping four to five hours straight.   Although I only had four hours of sleep, I had to keep moving.  Things have to get done; important thing like laundry, walking the dog, feeding the kids, etc.

This afternoon, the boys and I went to the local park down the street.  It was kind of chilly today and the park was empty when we got there.  I parked my infant son stroller about six feet away from the stairs to the slides.    Something inside of me wanted to play.  I climbed the stairs and I went on the big slide and slid down it. My oldest son was climbing the stairs behind me and started smiling. I had an idea.  I said to my son “I’m going to count to ten and then I’m coming after you!”  I started to count, “One, two, three, four…” I saw the excitement on my sons face as he finished climbing the stairs to the big side.  I continued my count, “five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten.  Here comes mama!”  My son started screaming, “Here comes, MAMA!” then starts laughing.  My son doesn’t really understand the concept of being chased; he is usually the one that does the chasing. 

I ran up the stairs. I didn’t realize I could run so fast…ok you can stop laughing now. My son just laughed and smiled as I ran up the stairs.  He says, “Mama, chase you!” I laughed and said to him, “You are supposed to run if someone is chasing you.”  Then my son slide down the big slide and I said, “Here comes mama, run!” and then I slide down again.  I felt adventurous so I decide to climb the curvy ladder.  “I wonder if I can do this,” I said to my oldest son.  So I climbed it and it was fun but I felt a little dizzy afterward.  Nope, won’t be climbing the curvy ladder again.

We continued with this play for about five to six more times all the while that I’m making sure that my infant son is ok although he was looking at me like I was crazy like “What the hell is mama doing?”  I took breaks before I start again because I’m not as young as I use to be. Some time later, other kids and their parents came to the park. I notice the parents were playing chase with their children as well up the slides.  Maybe it was something in the air today like someone casted a playfulness spell for overtired, cranky adults who need to loosen up and play with their children (I’m speaking about myself of course).

Although I was exhausted, I had fun playing with my oldest son today.  I was happy that he was happy playing with mama.  Sometimes I can come off as the strict parent but today my son seen a side of me that he doesn’t see quite often, the kid side of mama.  For that hour I was my son’s playmate and I think he enjoyed that side of mama; maybe he even miss that side of me since he’s little brother came along.  I have to admit, I’m glad she came out today to play too.  I needed to relax and live in the moment like my son does everyday.  I need to do that more often.

Leave a Reply

